Daniel Mitchell Bespoke Jewellery

020 3302 3577

Email enquiries

The Four C's

To help you in the purchase of your own bespoke piece of jewellery it’s important to understand something that we call the 4 C's. These will illustrate what to look for in your diamond.


The Four C's - Cut

The ‘Cut’ relates to the proportions of the diamond rather than to its shape (Round Brilliant, Princess, Asscher, Emerald, etc.) Cutting and polishing the diamond facets is what creates the sparkle of a diamond as it allows the maximum amount of light - which enters through the top of the diamond - to be reflected and dispersed. It is this process, regardless of the shape, which gives each stone its splendor and scintillation.


The Four C's - Colour

The highest quality diamonds are colour-less ones. This transparency allows light to pass through the stone with the most ease. Diamonds are graded from totally colour-less to light yellow but these differences are extremely subtle and it requires a trained eye and years of experience to colour grade a diamond.


The Four C's - Clarity

A diamond’s clarity is dictated by the number and position of flaws or blemishes it possesses when examined under 10 x magnification. The majority of diamonds contain inclusions - tiny birthmarks which will appear as blemishes. Inclusions can interfere with the light which travels through the diamond and thus the fewer inclusions a diamond holds the more striking and expensive the diamond will be.


The Four C's - Carat

A carat is the measure used to describe the weight of a diamond. The more carats a diamond has, the more rare and expensive it will be. A carat is divided into 100 ‘points’ therefore a diamond of 50 points in weight will be .50 of a carat. The carat is the easiest measurement to establish, but just because two diamonds are of identical carat-weight doesn’t mean their value will be the same. It can differ significantly due to their cut, colour and clarity.